my DIY UH-1H collective for DCS

tacca

Hey guys,

Im a member of the online 229th Battalion. We have a really good bunch of guys over there and as part of a project I made a DIY collective controller and will be creating a how to for them.

It cost me about $270 AUD to make with all single run costs. If people get together and order the 3D printed head and anodised button panels together you would be able to get it down to around $200 AUD. I know its still a fair bit for people and it was for me as well; Im a full time uni student working part time. If anyone has suggestions on how to make it cheaper Im all ears.

It uses a teensy 3.1 micro controller for the interface with a full custom HID descriptor and coding. A hall sensor is used on the primary access with code for 16 bit resolution which means an 12-13 bit effective resolution (remove usb etc noise) for 30 degrees range of movement. That means 0.004 of a degree resolution, it feels buttery smooth in sim

Im currently writing a full How to and putting it up on the 229th forums so check that out if you want more details

Anyways, everyone likes eye candy.

Collective-1097.jpg

Collective-1089.jpg

Collective-1088.jpg

Collective-1090.jpg

Edited by tacca
fixed images

That looks really good, absolutely love it.

I plan on offering something like that, complete, sometime when im done with the A-10C.

But for now, If people are interested, i can offer 3D printning service, if they provide the STL files, because i have not even looked into the details of the huey collective yet.

Is yours the original dimensions?

Keep up the good work.

Regards.

LynxDK

[sIGPIC][/sIGPIC]

Instagram

Great job!

What did you use for swivel mechanism on the collective shaft? Hydraulic or pneumatic jacks or cylinders? friction screws?

I have my Ka-50 collective already done but I can't figure out a way to force it to stay where I want it before the switches box weight makes it drop all the way down

My rig specs: