VVS Roundel

StormTalon627

This game is so much fun it inspired me to do some more model planes after a very long time.

So now I am wondering if anyone knew what roundel the VVS is currently using? I have seen a new tricolor one with the blue outline on the red star, but Wikipedia says Russia went back to the Soviet Red star with white outline in 2013. Some recent pictures are too zoomed out to tell...

Any insight?

Thanks! :)

[sIGPIC][/sIGPIC]

Seems to me that the latest aircraft I saw in pics have the soviet style red star, without the blue outline. Yet I would surmise that probably it's not been standardized across all the air forces, in fact I believe that many regiments did not adopt the blue outline and kept the soviet style one.

I've been a modeler since a couple of years ago, when I had to stop because I relocated to another place, although I'd love to resume that hobby(my area was more modern armored vehicles than planes, yet I made the 1:48 SU-27 kit from Academy and it 's one of the best models I ever bought).

If I had to choose, as of today, I'd pick the red outlined star, yet it depends much on your inclinations: if you are interested in having the most realistic depiction of an airplane, it would be better researching into the matter - you decide which regiment of which unit your plane belongs and then try to find out what regulations that regiment currently has (difficult but not impossible). However, you may well be simply picking out by personal taste what solution you like more.

Anyway - wish you happy modeling, if you feel posting pics of your builds, finished or in progress, would be a nice things for other modelers in this forum :thumbup:

[sIGPIC][/sIGPIC]