Tips for the Valley Campaign, or is it still playable?

malibu43

I have had FC3 for a few years now (and tried FC2 very briefly before that), and am an off-and-on simmer. I jump around between titles and have just jumped back to DCS after the 2.5 update.

Even thought the A-10A is the aircraft that appeals to me the most in FC3, I have never been able to get past the 4th or 5th mission (I forget exactly which one) in the "The Valley" campaign.

It seems the mission designer placed the SA-11 site to the North to intentionally force the player to fly low in the A-10A, into the engagement envelope of all the mobile AAA and mobile SAMs. I can see why this would be the case and could theoretically make the missions more fun.

However, at some point in DCS World development, the gunners on BMPs and Tanks (not to mention ZSU's) became laser accurate. I find it impossible to use CBUs in CCIP mode or the GAU8 without getting torn to pieces. I'm not an expert pilot, but I try to stay fast, jink, and only fly directly at the target for the minimum time possible to employ a weapon and then break off. I still get shot down by the seemingly omniscient and incredibly skilled gunners.

In the 20 or so times I've played the A-10A instant action mission in DCS World, I think I've completed it successfully only once, and it was because my wingman had a 100% hit ratio with his AGM-65s. Once I get through my AGM-65's, I always get shot down when trying to continue the attack with CCIP CBUs and the GAU8.

I don't remember the gunners being nearly as deadly in FC2...

So anyway, I can't progress through the only campaign included for the A-10A, because I'm forced to fly so low I will almost certainly get shot down. Maybe I could only use AGM-65's and fly back to re-arm several times during each mission, but not using the GAU8 or any dumb bombs through the entire campaign would seem a bit odd.