Is there less propwash on the CEII because it's a biplane?

ekg

So a few people have likely noticed that on the ground roll you need hardly any rudder input to keep the CEII straight down the runway. I was thinking about it some more and I was wondering if that is happening because it's a bi-plane? That is the extra set of wings disturb the prop wash before it hits the stabilizer. I'm no aerospace engineer so this is pure speculation. Thoughts?

From this article http://www.kitplanes.com/issues/27_12/flight_reports/Flight_Review_Christen_Eagle_9393-1.html . "takeoffs are easy from grass or hard runways. Line up straight, add a bit of into-wind aileron, softly squeeze the right rudder, gently open the throttle"

Though it also states that alot of rudder is needed during most flight regimes, which is not implemented yet in the beta. The slip ball stays centered most of the time now.

Edited by Hoffster

I’d really like to know if this is a WIP issue. There should be way more rudder work while operating this aircraft. As far as I can tell, besides a lite turn on the takeoff roll (which might’ve actually been due to crosswind), torque and prop wash effects don’t seem to be modeled at all.

i7 7700K @5.0, 1080Ti, 32GB DDR4, HMD Odyssey, TM WH, Crosswind Rudder...

They are, they just arent as pronounced as they should be, which we acknowledged:

https://forums.eagle.ru/showpost.php?p=3763456&postcount=30

But regardless of that, our reference pilot disagreed with the above notion of substantial (way more) rudder use, stating that it needs a little just to stay coordinated, but its very small. As he added, resting your foot on the peddle just about take care of it. Eagle really doesnt need much rudder work unless you try hammerhead, snap roll or knife edge.

• Like 1

AMD Ryzen 5900X @ 4.95 Ghz / Asus Crosshair VII X470 / 32 GB DDR4 3600 Mhz Cl16 / Radeon 6800XT / Samsung 960 EVO M.2 SSD / Creative SoundBlaster AE-9 / HP Reverb G2 / VIRPIL T-50CM /