Is flak OP?

alip

Hello

I've been getting into DCS warbirds. The instant action missions that have flak seem to be very hard to complete. (Even on easy setting). No matter how I fly the flak hits and kills me sooner or later, usually sooner. Even at treetop level, flying fast and erratically.

Now I am no expert on WW2 AA/flak effectiveness, but is this realistic? Was it really this effective?

Comments/tips appreciated.

• Like 2

RTX 3080 12GB  *  i7-13700K  *  64GB DDR5  *  Windows 11

• ED Team

Hi alip, 

we do have some tweaks coming for FLAK in a future update that will adjust the effectiveness especially at lower levels. 

Thanks

• Like 6
  • Thanks 3

smallCATPILOT.PNG.04bbece1b27ff1b2c193b174ec410fc0.PNG

Forum rules - DCS Crashing? Try this first - Cleanup and Repair - Discord BIGNEWY#8703 - Youtube - Patch Status

Windows 11, NVIDIA MSI RTX 3090, Intel® i9-10900K 3.70GHz, 5.30GHz Turbo, Corsair Hydro Series H150i Pro, 64GB DDR @3200, ASUS ROG Strix Z490-F Gaming, HP Reverb G2

They also open fire at ridiculous ranges - and are accurate…

This isn’t just ground units, but boats and air gunners…

Flying the Mossie around today I had an S-Boat open up on me at 6,000m and a Ju-88 at 3,000m 😳

Whats worse - they both inflicted damage and were set in ME as “average” 🙄

• Like 2

3 hours ago, BIGNEWY said:

Hi alip, 

we do have some tweaks coming for FLAK in a future update that will adjust the effectiveness especially at lower levels. 

Thanks

Excellent news.

Right now, both AAA and Flak are ridiculously accurate, which is even more outrageous with the Flak units, as they would have needed to use delay times prior to firing, which I assume means that they probably wouldn't have even been fired at single aircraft or fighters.

• Like 4

System: 9700, 64GB DDR4, 2070S, NVME2, Rift S, Jetseat, Thrustmaster F18 grip, VPC T50 stick base and throttle, CH Throttle, MFG crosswinds, custom button box, Logitech G502 and Marble mouse.