The F-5‘s Aerodynamic Model might need to be polished?

When I do researches on F-5E tiger's Landing video records, I found most of the "tigers" will do a nose up Aerodynamic Braking, in this video the voice over said 10 degrees (?)  But I found it's really hard to do it in DCS, even I tried to touch down very Gently, the nose gear will "Strike to the floor" within 2 seconds, just like there is a force that pulling it down.   ( I double/hundred checked my brakes are off ),TRACK INCLUDED DOWN BELOW , but  yet I'm not a professional, and I'm lack of documents to proof it further, maybe you the one can provide a little help.   PS. the F-5E must need moooooore LOVE    

F5LAND.trk

Edited by 1130
Polishing words, Eng not my 1st Language
  • Like 8

I miss the old days when Novalogic's Comanche Gold is on 😄

On 1/11/2022 at 5:17 AM, RustBelt said:

There is a force pulling it to the floor, it's all the weight in front of the main landing gear. You have to preemptively catch it. Easier to do with FFB. 

Hi RustBelt,

Do you have tracks or videos to show what you are describing?

The preeemptive FFB catch you describe seems to apply to scenarios when the landing has a bit of force, so the impact of the main landing gear hitting the pavement causing a rotating moment around the gear.

But I have experienced what 1130 describes on the occasions when I am able to pull off a feather light landing, and yet the nose still drops a little after touch down.

I suspect the reason is not FFB, but instead that the wings lose all lift a little after touch down speed.

According to the F-5E manual, touch down speed is about 135 KIAS.

But the manual's Stall Speed chart 6-1, Sheet 2 shows that the lowest stall speed can be about 96 - 100 KIAS (wings level).

So stall speed is about roughly 30 KIAS less than touchdown speed.