Engine management trouble

twistking

I'm new to the P-47 and following the official manual i can cold start and fly a sortie without the engine dying on me, which is a decent starting point, i guess.
However i sometime have the issue that while cruising the RPM drastically changes for a very short moment, unsettling the whole aircraft and generally giving me the impression that something is not right. First i thought, the prop govenor might be broken, but it could also be just a sudden reduction in engine power and the governor overcompensating, making the rpm needle jump around.

I'm new to the aircraft and this problem only occurs when i cold start, so it might have to do with warm-up, or some engine settings i forgot. I'll probably figure that out, however i would still like to know what happens with the engine that makes those RPM jumps. The engine will still run and reducing RPM also helps with the issue. I just wonder what might be going on there. On hot started aircraft i don't have this issue...

Thanks.

at first i was suspecting that it had to do with improper warm-up (simply because proper warm-up seems to be more important on the p-47 then on other warbirds), but now that you mentioned fuel system, this would also make a lot of sense. i think i locked the primer everytime, but will also investigate if mixture setting was not correct. maybe i was running too lean.
there is no fuel booster pump or similar, that one would need to turn on, correct? if so, how does the fuel get to the engine though?

Edited by twistking

Shot in the dark, but do you happen to have water injection bound to something and you're hitting it inadvertently?

Also take a look at the turbocharger rpm when this happens to see if it is involved. It can have a 'multiplying' effect on engine rpm.

Edited by unlikely_spider

Modules: Wright Flyer, Spruce Goose, Voyager 1

36 minutes ago, unlikely_spider said: