Getting back in....Advice on PC for VR

Falcaw

Hi Guys,

I use to play DCS during the 1.5 days in VR (Oculuts rift cv1) Absolutely loved it. My 1070 card was just enough at the time but once 2.5 came out and kids came along I decided I needed to wait a little bit to upgrade and get back into DCS.

I have been following along VR progress compared with the hardware and now I have a bit more time on my hands I felt it was time to get back in! I started playing on my 1070 i5 computer just on a monitor with trackIR. Fun, but just not the same as VR. 

So i really wanted to take the plunge to get a good VR setup.

But I cant quite decide on the specs of the PC and a certain price jump. I am looking to run a hp reverb g2.

Option 1)

Intel Core i7-12700KF, 32 GB RAM, 1000 GB SSD, GTX 3080 - around $3000

Option2)

Intel Core i7-12700KF, 64 GB RAM, 2000 GB SSD, GTX 3080Ti - around $4300

It will be a dedicated DCS machine so I was thinking Option 1) would be enough but from what i have read on here I am wondering about option 2) as the syria map might need more Ram, and the extra Vram and cores on the 3080TI would be worth it. 

Cant decide though. I was wondering if I could get your advice?

-Falcaw

I would go option 1.

Ram is cheap and easy to add afterwards. 

Did you consider i9 cpus? 

i5 8400 | 32 Gb RAM | RTX 2080Ti | Virpil Mongoose T-50 base w/ Warthog & Hornet sticks | Warthog throttle | Cougar throttle USB | DIY Collective | Virpil desk mount | VKB T-Rudder Mk IV | Oculus Rift S | Buddy-Fox A-10 UFC | 3x TM MFDs | 2x bass shakers pedal plate| SIMple SIMpit chair | WinWing TakeOff panel | PointCTRL v2 | Andre JetSeat | Winwing Hornet UFC | Winwing Viper ICP

FC3 - Warthog - F-5E - Harrier - NTTR - Hornet - Tomcat - Huey - Viper - C-101 - PG - Hip - SuperCarrier - Syria - Warthog II - Hind - South Atlantic - Sinai - Strike Eagle