Walk me (PLT) through Hercules Down

itarrow

So, after finally getting some success in hovering etc, I decided to try a combat mission, and it was Hercules Down.

I play in VR and just as the pilot.

I realized I know 0 about helo tactics and best practices. I tried learning by attempts, but after some frustration I kindly ask you helo experts to provide some advice.

1) How do you find moving targets traveling in a forest… efficiently ? 

Maybe it’s because I am a not yet effective pilot and I focus too much on piloting, maybe VR doesn’t help, but how are you supposed to look for and find targets moving in a forest, without labels and with the limited assistance George provides now ?

2) How do you pilot while searching in a potentially hostile area ?

Are you supposed to hover and jump from a place to another after having scanned ? Or are you supposed to move fast and hide if you detect something ?

3) How do you engage a fast moving ground target in a not so open area ?

Again do you place yourself in a hover, qnd then engage when the target becomes visible for a few seconds, or are you actively moving and follow the target so to open opportunities ?

Thanks in advance for you patience !

Edited by itarrow
  • Like 1

The AH-64D s a 2-seat aircraft for a reason. Your question number 2 is the germane point. One person flies and the other focuses on finding and shooting the bad guys.

I recommend taking a bit of the learning how to use George form both seats. 🙂

R/ Hangar 200

[sIGPIC][/sIGPIC]

Enemy AI in vehicles are not showing up in Flir as hot. there totally blacked out and can not see them until too late.

EAIvehiclesnoshowupinflir.jpg

" any failure you meet, is never a defeat; merely a set up for a greater come back, "  W Forbes

"Success is not final, failure is not fatal, it is the courage to continue that counts,"  Winston Churchill

" He who never changes his mind, never changes anything,"