Working up to Su25t single player campaign

eifionglyn

Hi,

Hoping I can get some pointers on what to work on so I can take on the Su25t single player campaign.

Currently attempts at even the first mission result in my losing situational awareness, being unable to find targets, yes they're at waypoint 6, yes they're marked with red smoke but I often can't spot what I'm actually meant to engage. Even cheating with labels on I have trouble spotting them. And even if I do spot some tanks on the road, everything happens way too quickly, and by the time I've got a target locked and ready to release weapons I'm within seconds of overflying the targets and inevitably eat a SAM.

The thing is, I'm an OK pilot with the Su25, I actually enjoy flying it, I can taxi, take off and land with no problem. I understand and can use the navigation and autopilot systems. I'm happy with weapons employment in training missions I've created. I can put guided missiles and unguided bombs pretty much where I want them.

But try and put it all together in the campaign missions and it all goes to pot. So there's two things I need to improve. Visually acquiring targets, and secondly, getting the jet ready to employ weapon on that target before I've overflown it, while at the same time avoiding enemy fire. I don't have any such issues with the Ka50, perhaps the more slow, methodical employment of an attack helicopter suits me more than a jet.

I think I should make some training missions that include stuff that is actually going to shoot back at me rather that statics to practice dropping bombs on. Any suggestions for what would be hard enough so that it's a challenge and I'm learning but not so hard that I get instantly blown up. I'd like to get the F/A18 one day, but need to get competent at using a ground attack jet before I spend the moneys.

• Like 1