Limitations of PrPNK and ABRIS integration: why?

sinelnic

Hello there!

I started studying the nav systems of my chopper with the assumption that the inertial and satellite systems were totally unconnected. It took me a while to make a rudimentary map of the navigational/targeting systems of the Ka-50, finding out that in fact the PVI-800 is a mere interface to a couple more systems that make the PrPNK which also feed the AP, targeting system, etc, with the INU/PNK-800 at its core.

Now it took me little more to find out that there ARE some integrations built between ABRIS and the PrPNK, for instance the designation of target points for DL, and the display of the Shkval aiming point in the ABRIS. So basically input from the PNK-800 to the ABRIS is already in place, I assume with all the circuitry for data format transformation and communications protocol (input only).

So my question is why is there not a similar integration for automatic or even manual INU calibration from the ABRIS (when satellites are up) or, more importantly, waypoint and targeting input from the ABRIS to the PNK-800? With little planning this could be done in a way that would still allow the pilot to seamlessly operate with the PVI-800 in case of satellite system malfunction.