Kuky's Tripple screen setup

Kuky

To start off... I used 3x 27" screens, model is Viewsonic VA2703-LED with 1920x1080 res, 3ms (typ) response, 300 lumens, 3000 contrast (typ), DVI/VGA connector, very basic but cheap (AU$225 each).

I didn't want anything expensive as this is my first try at tripple screen setup. These monitors cost me AU$725 delivered, I wanted to take the plastic bezel off so I had to make some sort of stand and that cost me little under $90 (I've used aluminium, 2 hinges, some screws and some wood, all in all it does the job, granted not the best looking thing from the rear, but who cares :D) in the end I've voided my waranty (hence why I wanted cheap monitors to start with)

The panel is not fixed to the screen panel so first problem was how to fix panel to back of monitor - I used L shape aluminium matching screen height, then cut out U shape pieces to hold the panel and riveted it all together.

Then came problem of what to use to hold the 3 monitors together, I went simple and cheap - just piece of wood, then I used some strong ginges and screws to hold the 3 wood pieces together... then fixed the monitor to the wood using existing 100x100 Vesa mount holes. I forgot to say, I have monitors set at about 50° angle and I sit about 70cm from main screen (screens are 63cm wide) so when looking left right I'm mostly looking straight at left/right monitor (to reduce colour change when viewing at angle since these are TN panels which have that downside)

The came prblem of trying to figure out how to have 3 screens sit on my dest, but not be too far away (meaning side monitors would be extending over the desk and nothing to hold them - again simple but not so good looking solution was use again aluminium square tubes which are light but strong to hold it in place... again it works so all is good

Last issue for now is I need 1 longer monitor cable to reach the PC, shold get it tomorrow.