P-51 Double Trouble Two - with PSD source files

Rampant8

This is in reference to this skin:

https://www.digitalcombatsimulator.com/en/files/3318427/

To use as-is

• Extract to C:\Users\[your user]\Saved Games\DCS\Liveries\P-51D
  • You can delete source folder if desired (or keep it, it won't hurt anything)

To use Photoshop source files
As I am quite new to DCS -- but definitely not to Photoshop, I wanted to setup a PSD file with the following objectives:

• Make changes to the paint and roughmet files in the same source file
  • Control different elements of the roughmet individually (took a lot of trial and error to learn about roughmets in general (first time working with them). Since the P-51 is so sensitive to metallic textures, this became very important. Other planes won't need as detailed source files.
  • Setup multiple options to invasion stripes/etc for simple toggle/masking/un-masking changes
  • Make it as easy as possible to make changes to the paint, and export paint and roughmet files from the same source

Because of this, however, I admit the source files might be a bit overwhelming and confusing to use for those who are not very experienced in Photoshop, so I wanted to give a few tips/notes.

Using layer comps
The main premise of the source files are to use layer comps to control the visibility of different layers/groups. This let me separate out all the elements I wanted to control in the roughmets and use clipping mask color layers to edit each one individually. But, it makes for a lot more layers in the source file.

If you open the layer comps window, you can show the "Paint" layer comp and see/export the paint DDS, and switch to the "RoughMet" layer comp and see/export the roughmet layer comp. Simple. Export, change layer comp, export -- done.