Activate Unit not always working

breakneckPace

I'm hoping I could get a little assistance with my 'seemingly' simple mission I'm trying to make that doesn't seem to be working the way I imagine it would. I'm new to mission building AND DCS, but I really like the potential for what can be done. Right now I'm just making simple missions for my friend and I to run through to get some training in our jets. So here's the basic rundown of what I was hoping would happen, how I have it set up, and where things break that I'm hoping to have some help with: (I'm currently running version 2.5.5 if that helps any)

• Start Mission cold and dark in a parking lot with A-A loadout (at Sochi)

• take off and fly towards first waypoint, where you will encounter.

• destroy enemies at first waypoint then return to base for re-fuel and re-arm.

• take off, and defend incoming bomber from the new fighters that get created with the task of destroying the bomber

• return to base with a safe landing, park, and end mission

basics of how I have it set up

• player(s) take off and enter a trigger zone right at the end of the runway to "Activate" the first set of targets, that are set to . (I was doing it this way so the targets weren't just circling as the players start up their jets, we like to go through the whole proper start up process. :) )
  • players fly to the targets to engage and destroy. When the last target is destroyed, it activates the bomber and second attacking group. (I have 2 target groups to give some extra targets since it's supposed to be designed for 2 jets to fly this mission)
  • The rest of the mission plays out, and hopefully the B-52 is kept safe.

Here's where things aren't working/seem broken:

The two biggest issues I'm having are:

~sometimes right when I start the mission the bomber group is activated without waiting for the first set of targets to be spawned and destroyed