Question about potentiometers for throttles.

Corvidae

This is probably a very basic question, but I'm new to all this and a bit lost.

So I got a potentiometer and got it working in DCS through DCS BIOs to turn the Harrier nozzle controller.

Problem is, I have to turn the potentiometer almost 360 degrees from it's start to it's end for the lever in game to go maybe 90 or 100 degrees.
I dunno if I've explained it properly, but not sure how I can make the physical lever I'll be making match the travel of the in game lever.

4 hours ago, Corvidae said:

This is probably a very basic question, but I'm new to all this and a bit lost.

So I got a potentiometer and got it working in DCS through DCS BIOs to turn the Harrier nozzle controller.

Problem is, I have to turn the potentiometer almost 360 degrees from it's start to it's end for the lever in game to go maybe 90 or 100 degrees.
I dunno if I've explained it properly, but not sure how I can make the physical lever I'll be making match the travel of the in game lever.

Maybe this?

// A linear axis control where the physical or electrical range of the input does utilize the full 0 to 1023 range.
DcsBios::Potentiometer clippedPotentiometerExample("MSG_0", ANALOG_PIN_A, false, 256, 768);

I think the way this works is that the AtoD result 256 to 768 (the middle of the pot input range) is mapped to the whole range of the control in DCS.  You change the numbers to suit your control.
To get the numbers, you could write a program to read the pot and send out the A to D result to an LCD or the PC serial monitor.

9 hours ago, No1sonuk said:

Maybe this?

// A linear axis control where the physical or electrical range of the input does utilize the full 0 to 1023 range.
DcsBios::Potentiometer clippedPotentiometerExample("MSG_0", ANALOG_PIN_A, false, 256, 768);