Interview with Winwing founder Alex Li

Manolo

Dear friends of the DCS and sim community. In my Blog (El vuelo de la Gran Avutarda) I had the pleasure to interview Alex Li, who is the product manager and founder of WINWING. Chengdu WinWing Tech Co., LTD established in March 2013, specialized in research,development, production and sale of Flight simulation training devices and provides efficient customer service around the globe. “翼胜”originated from English “ WinWing”, “Win” means win-win, and “WinWing” means “the Wings of victory”.

335200355_250689350622162_45151474159323

Alex is a busy man, but he was very kind and provided answers to my questions, including any future product plans of  WINWING. Here is the interview:

Question: Can you tell us a little about you and the company?
Alex: I don't have a particularly unique background personally. I studied mathematics and have been involved in the computer manufacturing industry for 5 years, followed by 12 years in the simulator industry. As a result, I'm not inclined to be in the public eye. Our company has been established for 10 years now, and we boast a professional team dedicated to simulator development. In our B2B business, we specialize in creating FAA FAR PART60 LEVEL5 certified flight training devices and a range of other simulators. The consumer entertainment market is just a small fraction of our overall business diversification. 

Q: How was created or what was your first idea?
A: I have actually visited Germany myself, where you will find numerous modest yet remarkably impressive companies that have stood the test of time across generations. As the first generation at WINWING, my aspiration is to emulate their enduring success story. Nonetheless, we must confront the inevitable reality that AI may ultimately supersede human pilots one day—an advancement that could potentially render simulator technology as a sunset industry.

Q: In addition, what about the people at WINWING?