Ground battle tips/tricks?

SageOT

So with GCI/CAP and various other triggers I can make the air part of my missions feel pretty fluid.

What I suck at is setting up decent ground battles. I have plenty of knowledge on unit sizes/composition and RW tactics, but getting it to look/feel cool in game is just not happening the way I would like.

Looking for what works for others. What mission editor cheats (setting groups invulnerable that kind of thing ) or other things you all do to get a decent realistic battle going on and not just striking convoys or static units?

If you use scripts awesome, can you link and say what they do? I couldn't script my way out of a wet paper bag, but I can sure as heck make a do script file trigger. ; )

Thanks for any ideas you are willing to give.

VFA-25 Fist of the Fleet

[sIGPIC][/sIGPIC]

Virtual Carrier Strike Group One | Discord

You've pretty much got the idea, already, sounds like.

As far as infantry goes:

The FIRE AT POINT command will generate tracers without necessarily directly targeting enemy troops.

Set AI skill to average so that they miss most of the time or the fight will be over fast.

Setting a small group of outnumbered friendlies as invulnerable against a larger force will give you a few minutes of gunfire before everyone runs out of ammo. The fight will be over fairly quickly if it's 4 invulnerable guys vs. 4 guys who can be shot, so time it out a few times and see what ratio works with your combination of terrain and lighting.

For vehicles:

Be forewarned, there is currently a bug in the stable DCS build. If you use LATE ACTIVATION and VISIBLE BEFORE START multiplayer clients will never see vehicle movement, only the server host will. LATE ACTIVATION still works when used independently of VISIBLE BEFORE START.

As a workaround, you can use GROUP HOLD and GROUP RESUME if you want vehicles to stop driving but still be able to fire.