Stupid question about DVI connection..

Hi,

As the title suggests, I am not very good with hardware matters :D .

I recently bought a new LCD monitor, which has both a VGA and a DVI socket and came with both a VGA and DVI cable. The LCD installation guide shows both(?) being connected to the videocard - as in: "connect VGA to VGA and then DVI to DVI"......not: "connect VGA to VGA or DVI to DVI"

My videocard has two DVI sockets and no VGA one, but came with a DVI -> VGA adapter.

Now I see no reason to connect the analog(VGA) socket of the LCD to the videocard, since the fully digital DVI to DVI connection is superior.

So my question is whether the VGA step in the installation guide is just a very poor way of illustrating an either/or option, or whether there is a reason for both cables to be connected to the videocard?.....e.g. there is a button on the front of the monitor entitled "source" which switches between DVI and "D-sub" input signal.

JJ

So my question is whether the VGA step in the installation guide is just a case of a very poor way of illustrating an either/or option, or whether there is a reason for both cables to be connected to the videocard?.

I think this might be the case. I see no reason why the monitor should need a VGA AND DVI cable plugged into the video card. It's one or the other!

Give it a shot - the worst thing that could happen is that your PC explodes!

:P

Definitely poor way of illustrating :D

You need to connect only 1 DVI cable... actually you will need two IF you use something like Apple 30" LCD which has a massive resolution that can't be supported by 1 DVI port (requires 2) DVI has a resolution limit of about 1600x1200 and if you want to run anything higher than that you will need 2 DVI links.

No longer active in DCS...

I think this might be the case. I see no reason why the monitor should need a VGA AND DVI cable plugged into the video card. It's one or the other!

Yeah that was my thought as well :)