What is the center dot on the hmss?

Thorluis2

1 hour ago, TheFreshPrince said:

Could it be one of the IR-LEDs used for the position tracking of the helmet? I mean it's classified, so we'll never know for sure. 

I don't think it is, since it would be blocked by the visor

2 hours ago, TheFreshPrince said:

Could it be one of the IR-LEDs used for the position tracking of the helmet? I mean it's classified, so we'll never know for sure. 

the IR Leds are on the back of the helmet

Up close and personal with the badass Typhoon's Helmet Mounted Symbology System - The Aviationist

Am 18.2.2024 um 06:20 schrieb Thorluis2:

What is the purpose of the center dot on the hmss? Is it a daylight sensor? It is blocked by the visitors so I believe it is.null

image.png

Looks to me like the projector lens... You can see it clearer in the picture below just where the hud reflects in the visor. But I'm not an expert, so it could be something completely different.. 

striker-ii-fighter-pilot-helmet.jpg?w=73

43 minutes ago, This said:

Looks to me like the projector lens... You can see it clearer in the picture below just where the hud reflects in the visor. But I'm not an expert, so it could be something completely different.. 

That is the stryker 2 hmd. That is the nvg upgrade. The stryker 1 and 2 are completely different helmet.

https://www.baesystems.com/en/product/typhoon-helmet

https://www.baesystems.com/en/multimedia/striker-ii-display

I'm with you.
And again: Not an expert.

However I didn't mean the integrated night vision lens (which sits above the visor), but (what I think might be) the smaller projector lnullens beneath it (see the red circle). I think they are placed the same in both design variants.

image.jpeg

Edited by This

1 hour ago, This said:

I'm with you.
And again: Not an expert.