AI Glitch - Drives Vehicles into the Water

Caldera

Hey All,

Probably been brought up before but I can not find the thread. 

It has been going on since I started playing the game, where an enemy vehicle under attack will disperse.  If water is near it will sometimes (often) disperse into the water.  A portion of the vehicle is visible above the surface and it becomes invincible.  The water itself shows, for example bullet strikes, but the vehicle itself can not be damaged.

I don't think ED has put this on their hot fix list, so other than not placing vehicles near water or not letting the disperse is there any known work arounds?

Thanks in advance,

Caldera

• Like 1

• 2 weeks later...

Flappie,

I will see what I can do.  As always, the track size limitation limits many bug reports because you can not edit just the section where the suspect bug is in a long track file.  The track file in a mission where I notice this happening is a long one.

Caldera

Hi Flappie,

I have flown my mission a few more times and vehicles have driven into the water randomly when attacked.  As the dispersion AI is random, so is the vehicles driving into the water.  Also I should mention that the mission is flown in the Apache and I am using the gun to attack the vehicles.  The location is SW of Batumi where a road goes around a bend and comes close to the water adjacent to some power line towers.  I am playing in SP. 

But, I believe that I have noticed a few things.  The main thing I have noticed is that indeed you are correct, vehicles can be destroyed in the water.  Looking specifically for a problem, I began to notice the destroyed vehicle messages that I had missed early on.

What I did notice after I got a vehicle destroyed message at various times:

• Shows fire and smoke animation as well as changing into a destroyed vehicle.
  • Shows no fire and smoke animation as well as remains an undestroyed (normal looking) vehicle and will not move any more.