Create markpoint from SPI?

Newbie62
Go to solution Solved by jaylw314,

Is there a way to create a markpoint from a SPI?  If I set a SPI and am working on refining it in preparation to attack, but a greater threat appears and I break off, it would be nice to be able to save the current SPI to come back to it after the greater threat has been neutralized.  Seems like the way to do that is a markpoint.  But I've combed the manual and don't see a way.  Is there a way to do it?  Or would one be better off creating a mark point rather than SPI, nearly always, because a markpoint can be readily set as SPI?

On a peripherally related note, I have found that MAV seekers are pretty horrible at locking onto targets.  I'm finding that refining SPI with TGP then slaving MAV to the SPI is the way to go, but even that is hit-or-miss.  I'm new to this game, so I don't know for sure, I've just observed that so far.  But along the way, I've noticed that when I slew the TGP right to where I see the target visually (or more often "cheating" by slewing TGP just up and left of the label) and set a SPI, and come back around several times like "where the heck are you", in the TGP, no matter what the zoom level, the target just plain doesn't appear.  I can zoom in, zoom out, crawl all over the place around that point and most of the time all I see is blank ground.  Especially going after ZSU-23s.  Every once in a while, there it is, plain as can be.  It fills quite a bit of the TGP display at max zoom, I can even see the guys sitting in the gunner's chair, so it seems like at lesser zoom levels while searching, the gun should have been visible in profile or farther out, as a speck.  It's almost like the terrain is being rendered over the ZSU, even though the ZSU is on top of the ground.  While looking at forum topics on this, I saw a reference to "Barthek's mod" and the accompanying text made sounds like this (ground being rendered over a target sitting on top of the ground) may be a pers