Trackir Question

Sorry if this has been asked before, but I'm new to this game and trackir.

I'm still trying to get the hang of trackir, it takes some getting used to. One problem I am having with it is when I try to look at objects up close.

Take the ABRIS for example, I'll position my head so I'm looking at it up close, and hold it there while I'm looking at everything. After about 5 seconds of keeping my head still at this position, the view automatically switches back to the default position.

With the learning curve, it is quite frustrating when i just want to take time to study some of the instruments carefully only to have my view switch right back to center and unzoomed position. Any thoughts? I'll keep trying to play around with the settings.

On a side note: Gez i'm enjoying this game :)

It'll switch to the default view after a few seconds if you go out of the field-of-view of the camera. To see if that's the problem, sit back about a foot from where you normally do, center the view, and try the same head movement.

They say you should be 2-6 feet from the camera for best results. I'm at about 2 feet right now, and I occasionally have that issue, but it's usually because I'm totally into what's going on in the game, and I'm leaning WAY over. :) I keep meaning to move the camera back a little bit, but I'm just lazy, and it's not that severe a problem for me.

Other solutions, besides more distance, include sitting the Track Clip higher on your head. That'll increase the sensitivity of the unit, and if you lean way in on the screen, it has less chance of going outside the camera's FOV. Also you could simply increase the Z sensitivity in the TrackIR software, so you don't have to lean in as far to get the same results.