Can you be an Infantry unit and walk around?

robmuzz

I saw a video (of the P51 I think) where they started on-foot (looking down at their feet) and went up to the aircraft.

I am new to DCS World, so...

My question is.

Can you get out? Or control infrantry in the Combined Arms?

If I make a mission in the Editor with a P51 and an Infantry unit, can I switch to the ground unit?

Thanks,

Rob.

• Like 1

Oh ok, thanks for the quick reply.

So... what about a Chinook, or Tornado or something, although I wouldn't expect a cockpit or anything, can I control other stuff in a mission I made, or is it just a few tanks and the default planes?

Has there been talk of a control of infantry / vehicle's and assorted ground equipment in a Combined Arms environment, where a dedicated ground squad could conduct ops on a regular basis in first person?

I know that is almost a whole other world, a complete new set of everything - but it would be interesting to have a Ground - Air and Sea elements controlled by real players.

Another WW2 themed game tried this and changed game dynamics and only allowed ground players in a small section of the map at any one time and it destroyed any possibility of good ground combat or freedom of movement.

You can control the ground units (most anyway). Others you order around like a realtime strategy game. You can also order around air units but you dont directly control them normally.

Or you could directly control an air unit like the SU-25t and enable 'pilots control ground units' to order them around.

Combined arms simple mission:

I have another mission where I fly the black shark and use the map to move ground units somewhere...

Lyndiman

AMD Ryzen 3600 / RTX 2070 Super / 32G Ram / Win10 / TrackIR 5 Pro / Thrustmaster Warthog HOTAS & MFG Crosswind Rudder Pedals