Something is DEFINATELY fishy...

StrongHarm

Hey all.. first post. Just started DCS.. love it! Used military grade sims when I was in the Navy and this gives me the same feeling.

I'm seeing an oddity in that my vid cards aren't heating up. I'm using nVidia 8800GTX 768s in SLI. I've checked my nVidia profile, verified that SLI is working using the indicator, and turned off AA etc etc.. as listed in previous posts. I'm using high settings in 1920x1200, but my GPUs are only heating up by about 10F and my frame rates average about 20-30fps. Other modern games increase the temp by about 50F. My system is in excellent condition (water cooled etc.etc.) as I've been a sys admin for about 15yrs.

Anyone know what I'm missing?

Thanks in advance,

StrongHarm

EDIT:__________________________________________

Thanks for all the great help. Staggering conclusions HERE.

------------------------------------------------------------------

Edited by StrongHarm
  • Like 1

It's a good thing that this is Early Access and we've all volunteered to help test and enhance this work in progress... despite the frustrations inherent in the task with even the simplest of software... otherwise people might not understand that this incredibly complex unfinished module is unfinished. /light-hearted sarcasm

o7

Welcome to the forums, sir.

Even the best of us forgets many of the obvious things now & then.

Heating;

<nm - failed to read - I thought you said your system was heating up 10F above normal games>

As for FPS - DCS is heavily dependant on the CPU - and it's not very optimized for multithreading.

There are a few tips around on how to get the most speed out of DCS.

Water can be set to 0 and such.

But of course any background processes in the system will affect performance.

Here's one:

http://forums.eagle.ru/showpost.php?p=760153&postcount=6

Much good tips to be found in the Problems and Bugs section ;)

Edited by Panzertard