Forum Maintenance between 04:00 - 06:00 UTC ×
Forum Maintenance between 04:00 - 06:00 UTC

New Map - Missions

jcbak

As a non-mission designer, I'm curious.....and a little worried. As excited as I am about new scenery and aircraft on the horizon, I wonder if mission designing willbe less frustrating? The new software will still be updated periodically and I assume will have a similar effect on missions that were developed prior to its release. I certainly understand why many stopped creating new missions. What, if anything will change with the new scenery regarding mission development? Won't the same frustrations apply? And if so, is there any hope of a resurgence in mission development that will outlive the initial novelty and enthusiasm of a new theater of operation? We are nowhere without great missions. :cry:

[sIGPIC][/sIGPIC]WIN 10, i7 10700, 32GB DDR4, RTX 2080 Super, Crucial 1TB SSD, Samsung EVO 850 500GB SSD, TM Warthog with 10cm extension, TIR5, MFG Crosswind Pedals, Wheelstand Pro, LG 40" 4K TV, Razer Black Widow Ultimate KB[/size]

I'm looking forward to the new maps. Nevada will be large, and as a training area it can handle any aircraft. Not to mention there's nothing stopping a designer from using it as an actual combat area, though I like Hormuz more.

Hormuz is a great fit for A-10, Ka-50 as well as the older aircraft. It's a little small for fighters, but it has a natural border (the water) that helps negate that issue. The F/A-18 and Su-33 may also be able to benefit by using areas outside of the main map.

I'll definitely be making missions for the new maps based on their merits alone. Improvements beyond the maps will likely come with time as well.

Awaiting: DCS F-15C

Win 10 i5-9600KF 4.6 GHz 64 GB RAM RTX2080Ti 11GB -- Win 7 64 i5-6600K 3.6 GHz 32 GB RAM GTX970 4GB -- A-10C, F-5E, Su-27, F-15C, F-14B, F-16C missions in User Files