Need help, new to DCS and need to build a system

hey guys,

I am new to dcs and I would like to get into the game ASAP. I have a budget of around $700 aud but I can push it up to $1000. I need help parting out a pc. I've been talking to a friend and he seems to think I should get a 1060, but theyre $400 right now and I think AMD has some better prices.

Is the RX570 decent on dcs, I can't find any benchmarks anywhere?

Should I get the RX580 8gb or GTX10606Gb for the same price?

Do I go for Ryzen 5 which is cheaper or should I save more for an i5?

Do I need an SSD to start out in DCS or can I upgrade later?

Do I need 16Gb of RAM straight away or can I get away with 8Gb and upgrade later?

If I can get answers to these questions soon that would be great.

Thanks, Nick :):helpsmilie:

Edited by nick.j.walker

Need help, new to DCS and need to build a system

Can only answer 2 questions.

You need 16gb of Ram. On my old pc I had 10 and a monitor showed 9.8 being used. And that was with every little extra process switched off. And I expect the page file was being used heavily.

I would say yes also to a ssd.

With a normal hard drive DCS takes an age to load. Ssd made a Massive difference in load times when I switched

Edited by Alligin

Is the RX570 decent on dcs, I can't find any benchmarks anywhere?

You can use the RX570, but it has 2/3 of the GTX1060 performance ... so you will have to reduce the graphics detail a bit.

Should I get the RX580 8gb or GTX10606Gb for the same price?

They have about the same performance, but probably the nVidia has better resale value.

On my case, I chose a second hand GTX-970 .. has almost the same performance as the GTX-1060, but costed me just 200 dollars.

Do I go for Ryzen 5 which is cheaper or should I save more for an i5?

I use a Ryzen 5 1500X and I'm happy with it .. with the GTX-970 my Ryzen rarely has over 70% utilization, so it has headroom for a better card (playing on 1920x1080 resolution)