Fps drop

Holmer

Hey everyone.

im new to dcs and really wanne get into this game but theres this one thing keeping me from buying the warthog hotas setup and just blow hours away

somehow i cant get it to not drop fps whenever there are planes or anything on screen... i know its suppose to drop somefps but in my case i go from 80-70 to 20-30 fps...which is almost unplayable in a fast one on one fight

my rig is

I7 2700 K not OC

16 Gb kingston 1600 mhz ram

radeon 7970

Windows vista 7 64bit

if theres nothing on screen the game is butter smooth and runs at around 70 fps if there are any planes/tanks on the screen it drops to 20-35 fps

this is with everything on low

Disable aero theme

and all other stuff disable and low...

anything i can do more ? is my cpu bottlenecking me or something ? mind i am not a hi teck geek when it comes to optimization...i just really wanne play this game smooth and get up there in the sky with you guys

-Holmer

Mustang's suggestion sounds great. I'm running driver 13.4 still and get good frames with my 7970 board. The 13.4 driver is also recommended if you use FSX flightsim.

13.4 was the last driver before the new memory management Code started being Phased in, and with it Texture issues in FSX and DX9 as a whole.

if I could go back to 13.4 I would... But I need some of the newer features for every other game.

Hopefully when EDGE is integrated and we wave goodbye to DX9, AMD Users will be happy again.

To that note I was running 3 screens from a Single 7950 at around 30 FPS with a Mix of High/Med/Low Settings 2xMSAA etc..

So it's possible to squeeze respectable frame rates. I know run 4 screens from a MSI Lightning 7970 which has more processing power, not to mention pretty hefty overclock when I'm not in CrossFire with my 7950

Windows 10 Pro, Ryzen 2700X @ 4.6Ghz, 32GB DDR4-3200 GSkill (F4-3200C16D-16GTZR x2),

ASRock X470 Taichi Ultimate, XFX RX6800XT Merc 310 (RX-68XTALFD9)