SU25T A2G problem?

JP8

I am new to DCS World. I've completed the training and rehearsed so that I am reasonably proficient with the SU25T.

I have started generating missions (set on easy etc) and have no problems getting to the action and knocking out the occasional aerial threat en route. The problem is this. When I come to take on ground targets I switch to A2G then set the TV ON. (Incidentally, rather than slewing the target designator over the intended target I point the nose of the aircraft at it as I find this easier than operating the keyboard and then I hit enter). On the first round I get a positive lock and get a weapon off and a usually a hit. Circling back around for another turn I repeat the process but now I can't get the designator to lock to anything. Bashing enter doesn't work. Even using the keys to slew the designator doesn't work although the designator moves as it should. I have tried switching on + off the TV and laser designator. I have switched to A2A then back to A2G. Nothing.

I sometimes (not always) get a verbal LA but have no idea what I am locked onto. My suspicion is that I might be a bug as the pipper jumps back and forth rhythmically on the HUD sometimes. After multiple passes and no successful locks I invariably have to abandon the mission. I also thought that it might be due to multiple ground threats and that I had locked up something out of the field of vision but repeated presses of enter never locks my intended target.

Going back to a training scenario or an instant action mission and this problem doesn't occur.

1) Does this sound familiar?

2) Am I making a novice error?

3) Does repeated pressing of enter 'cycle' through targets or does is simply lock or unlock the designator?

Thanks

Edited by JP8

Just check twice which weapon you have active. Make sure you have a guided missile type selected and not an rocket or bomb. Set a weapon cycle button on your joystick just for your convenience.