AAR with Autopilot

I'm not expert enough to do a tutorial so this is more of sharing newbie's experience.  I'm sure this probably isn't the proper or realistic method.  But I've seen people asking for Easy AAR mode so maybe it can be an option to others who are having difficulties.

I watched a lot of AAR tutorials that said to focus on the pylon/tanker rather than the basket.  I tried it for two missions and just couldn't get it to work.  Maybe my controller isn't good enough or my peripheral vision is bad, I'm not sure.  So I decided to try using autopilot and using this method, I was able to connect 100% of the time.  Video below is the footage of me trying this method for the first time.

Edited by Taz1004
  • Like 2

• 2 weeks later...

Hey Taz, like you I am NOT a pro, nor a pilot in real life.  I was actually a ground pounder for 8 years, so this is about as opposite as it gets.  Having said that I likewise watched a bunch of tutorials and read as many tips as I could since I could not keep hold of the probe to save my life.  Then in one of the odd vids, it was mentioned to make sure you are seated comfortably (duh) and that your stick is in a natural position.  Yeah, that should be a 'duh' as well, but my desk situation is a bit awkward since I have a corner desk, so it is rounded instead of squared.

So, I went ahead and tried moving the stick and raising my desk chair a bit and viola!  I connected on the first try and had absolutely no issue keeping hold.  It was night at day different since I had probably tried refueling 50+ times, all failures but one...which I think was accident that it worked.  After repositioning my stick closer to center and having it lower (due to raised chair), my control was so much better for both AAR and normal flight.  I would say try reconfiguring your physical setup if you are finding flight (both formation flying and AAR) is very unstable where others make it look easy.