ATTN: F-15 Drivers: Aspect Angle ?

Ironhand

I had added this to my "New Tutorial" thread this morning but thought it might get more visibility here:

To anyone familiar with my simming history, it's no secret that I'm fairly new to the F-15 cockpit. So I have a question. When in STT lock or TWS with a PDT, the 2nd number in the top left corner of the VSD is supposedly the Aspect Angle (AA). I say "supposedly" because everything I've seen about this sim's rendition of the F-15 VSD has indicated that to be true. In my recent tutorial, I parrotted that misinformation even though the number wasn't behaving like an AA.

I've been puzzling over it, since the tutorial. This morning came the dawn. That number is actually the DTG (Degrees-To-Go) in xx*10 form. 15R=150 degrees Right. Everytime I run the angles for varying intercepts, the number I get for DTG is the number of degrees displayed in that position on the VSD. In the intercept lexicon, degrees-to-go (DTG) is the fewest number of degrees you have to turn to make your heading identical to the bogie's. The implications are fairly obvious, especially if you are in lag pursuit.

So my question is: Does the real VSD show DTG or AA in that position? Anyone know for sure? My assumption would be the latter, since AA is the angle that drives the Air Force computations. But I don't really know. As I understand it, the Navy and Marines use Target Aspect (TA), a completely different angle. Both derive DTG from those primary angles, though.

Rich

YouTube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCU1...CR6IZ7crfdZxDg

_____

Win 10 Pro x64, ASUS Z97 Pro MoBo, Intel i7-4790K, EVGA GTX 970 4GB, HyperX Savage 32GB, Samsung 850 EVO 250 GB SSD, 2x Seagate Hybrid Drive 2TB Raid 0.

Unfortunately I don't have any docs on the VSD to be able to tell you :/