Simple questions before buy MiG-21

FrostLaufeyson

I decided to buy this plane for several reasons
1. It is inextricably linked to my country
2. I heard it was the best cold war aircraft in the DCS
3. It's hard

I've been flying an F18 for a few months now, so wanted to try out how the old aircraft works. However, I had no knowledge of the Cold War era aircraft and was not sure if it would be suitable to be the first aircraft to study. Also, I heard that the MiG-21 in the DCS is not simulated very well, and some aspects are very different from reality, is this true? How about the blue side's F-5 by comparison (I'd rather try the red side's plane)?

By the way, my stereotype of Cold War planes is: they were all rockets. This might be a lot more exciting than the F18.

• Like 1

Some of the low speed handling is suspect, to be sure, but other than that it's outstanding. It's key to remember that a lot of complaints about that that I've seen over the year cite older, lighter MiG-21s. Those flight envelopes aren't that applicable to the bis. But, there's still some things about low speed that the team is looking at.

The F-5 is also a great airplane, but the MiG-21 has better performance in some key ways. I prefer the speed and power of the Fishbed. 

As for difficulty, I actually don't find it hard at all. It's quite a pleasant aircraft to fly so long as you fly it by the numbers. Basically, there's a problem solving flow chart to the MiG-21 and it boils down like this

My missiles aren't connecting with targets----------|
My maneuverability sucks---------------------------|-----> GO FASTER, YOU ARE TOO SLOW.
My gear keeps collapsing on landing----------------|

My engine just flamed out! -------------> Okay you went too fast, keep it below 1600kmh or 2.1, whichever comes first.

• Like 1
  • Thanks 3

Reformers hate him! This one weird trick found by a bush pilot will make gunfighter obsessed old farts angry at your multi-role carrier deck line up!