Tpod flir setup help

Ghostmaker

Hi all quite new to all this and dcs so a big learning curve lol

Im wanting to use th tpod flir on the fa18, i can get it to start up and look forward what dcs key / hoa comands do i need to setup to actually move it around? So qhen in the air i can search and zoom in and out? Before designating a target to drop on.

I have a thrust master warthog

Cheers

Arron

Don't forget that you need to have the small diamond in the top right corner of the screen where you have the flir. I usually run flir on the right screen so I SCS-R to put the diamond on the right screen. Then I click menu, then click flir, then click the vvsv (I think there is one more letter in there that I don't remember) button twice. That usually gets me to a curser type that I can slew. If not, flicking the SCS to the right will cycle through the various cursers until I get one that moves. I zoom w/ my mouse hitting various buttons to the left of the screen. I need to try the antennae elevation button next time.

You can slew the flir to a waypoint with boxing weapon designate on the HSI or SA page. Given you already have the flir on one of the DDI, make it soi with SCS to the screen position (if it is on the right DDI, SCS Right. If it is on the left, SCS Left. Lower DDI, SCS down.)

To unlock it from the waypoint you repeat the previous SCS command to switch the tracking mode to area track without the center diamond. This is on the ATFLIR pod. PAGE 222 on the manual onwards.

If you want to place the TPOD at somewhere on the ground with the HMD/JHMCS (helmet mounted display). Press SCS up and UNDESIGNATE so you can see a clock style crosshair on the center of the HMD/JHMCS. Press designate to target at somewhere on the ground and all the aircraft sensors will point at that location, including weapons. Slew the FLIR to whatever you want to target from that point. PAGE 323 on the manual.