Pushing A-10C speed above 290 KIAS?

VFA15-Juliet

Hi,

I am trying to perform some demonstration manoeuvres but I am not able to speed up enough to even do a loop (stall).

This is in A-10C. I am sure I can do that, but I am still very fresh to the sim world and aviation in general, any advice would be nice..

I am sorry to be a total noob at this point but I am studying hard to get my head around all of this..

Hi and welcome to the forum and DSC World.

There is absolutely no need to be sorry for anything really as the community is quite diversified.

I would recommend to start your study with A-10C manual included within your DCS module folders.

Flight fundamentals section will help you understand some aerodynamics basics as well as give you a glimpse of different speeds measured.

As for the question asked --

Aircraft configuration for all demonstrations will be clean. Meaning no gun ammo (set to 0% in mission editor), nothing under wings. Optimum performance is obtained when fuel load is 3,500 pounds; however, the demonstration can be safely accomplished with a higher fuel as long as the wing tanks are empty. The minimum fuel to start the show is 2,500 pounds.

Some time ago I had a problem speeding up past 300KIAS and was given a very nice response along with the document, you can find Air Force Demonstrations pdf there: (latest version)

http://static.e-publishing.af.mil/production/1/af_a3/publication/afi11-246v1/afi11-246v1.pdf

Also, watch out for difference between IAS as indicated by Airspeed Indicator and CAS mentioned in the above document…

Temperature and wind are key factors as well.

Let us know if you need further help…

Edited by Gierasimov
typos - fast typing
  • Like 1

Intel i7-13700KF :: ROG STRIX Z790-A GAMING WIFI D4 :: Corsair Vengeance LPX 64GB ::  MSI RTX 4080  Gaming X Trio  :: VKB Gunfighter MK.III MCG Ultimate :: VPC MongoosT-50 CM3 :: non-VR :: single player :: open beta

A clean A-10 should reach about 330 indicated at sea level.