Add independent cockpit texture settings and remove/revise old graphics precaching

Rapierarch

Dear ED,

Before my summer holidays I have said that I have some ideas to make ED experience better for everyone but I had to evaluate them and will share them when ready. The major focus point of my critics was lack of LOD models in game assets both for some core mods and AI assets.I see that this is moving to the right direction and still expecting LOD models for the rest of the assets and also I’m looking forward to seeing the final LOD levels for Apache and Viper. 

Current provided LOD1 and LOD2 models reduce CPU load 75% per asset but textures are still inherited from the main model and they still occupy a large portion in video memory. I’m sure that final lod levels will cap it and bring it to the level of Tomcat, KA-50 or Hornet. 

Last month I was mostly focused on small additions or tweaks which will impact performance and visual fidelity with minimal impact. So any interventions which require remodeling, or recording were out of the question. Also I have waited enough so that I personally and as many of hoggit users can test one of the basic solutions that I’m going to suggest now to implement. 

Your team can implement any of them pretty easily without tinkering the main code requiring internal testing. 

Here we go. Easiest first.

1- Separate cockpit textures from object textures and provide same level of quality settings for them:

Proposal: New setting in control panel:

Object textures: High, Medium, Low  

Cockpit textures: High, Medium, Low

Terrain textures: High, Low.

By allowing us to keep cockpit textures separated we can keep it at higher levels together with terrain textures and reduce object textures which mostly covers external models. 

Those models do not require the same texel density as cockpit and terrain textures since they are rarely seen closer than 30m.