How best to make the leap from SP to MP?

Notso

Hi all, I'm contemplating making the leap from offline SP only training missions and would like to stick my toe into the MP waters on a very limited basis - more like 1 on 1 or small group training missions rather than the full global war free for all servers.

What additional Hardware and/or Software do I need to get started? Consider me an absolute noob in this regard (I am) so don't assume I know anything about it (I don't).

So what do I need to have in place be able to talk to other players online? How do I meet up with them online? Is VR compatible with non-VR users, etc etc? What questions am I not asking?

Huge thanks in advance.

System HW: i9-9900K @5ghz, MSI 11GB RTX-2080-Ti Trio, G-Skill 32GB RAM, Reverb HMD, Steam VR, TM Warthog Hotas Stick & Throttle, TM F/A-18 Stick grip add-on, TM TFRP pedals. SW: 2.5.6 OB

As someone playing online games since Counterstrike 1.6, i´d say the most important thing is comms. Typing while playing in order to communicate simply sucks, in MMORPG´s as well as in FPS or a flight sim. A solid headset with a decent microphone is mandatory and IMO the only additional hardware you realy need (if you´re not owning one already). As for the software, a common VoIP software is also nice to have if you don´t want to rely on the ingame voice chat. Besides Discord, SRS is very popular among DCS pilots, but you could also use skype if you´re only playing in a 1 on 1 or 2 player coop session. I personally prefer good ol´ Teamspeak 3, but i´m also a dinosaur when it comes to VoIP. All these software is for free, so you can try a few out and then decide wich one you like most.