Limit EA/Beta state to 1 year?

viper2097

I'm quite new to DCS (started around autumn 2018 ), but I have yet around 200 in game hours and I own some modules / maps. (So I've spend enough money to have a voice, and also spent enough time to know what the topic is about)

Comeing from other games, the handling of the early access / beta states of modules and maps is quite uncomfortable to me.

It feels for me, that it becomes a bigger and bigger problem that modules or maps won't get finished, stay in early access over years etc...

I can understand that everyone would like to have their hands on a new product as fast as possible, and I can also understand that features (like weapons, as it is done at the moment with the F-18 ) can be added trough that time.

But on the other hand, there are paying customers who paid money for a module which will probably never finished because the developers already head over to the next one (understandable, bug fixing does not generate money, a new module does).

So, I'm pointing at you Eagle Dynamics:

Aren't you afraid that this will mess up the whole DCS system over short or long? That people get more and more angry and will leave?

There are a lot of new people incoming because of the Tomcat and the Hornet, so the playerbase is rising. There will be even more comeing with the F16 being released.

I would suggest an easy rule:

Once a module / map is released for purchase / integrated functionaly into DCS, there should be a time period of one year for early access.

If it stays longer in early access, customers have the choice to give the module back and get a full refund, or stay with it.

Also the have to specify what will be modelled and what not before the module can be purchased.

This would force the devs to finish their products, or at least deliver an acceptable product during a specified timeframe. And every customer knows what he can expect.