Wind direction

alehead

Dear ED Forum,

first off, I am really new to DCS World, after having spent years on FSX/P3D and more recently on X-Plane.

I have a specific question relating to the modelling of weather, as my observations do not make sense to me.

When I read a METAR, a weather report, I have information on the wind direction as a bearing and a windspeed, normally in knots. The wind direction is given as a bearing of origin, i.e. the direction from which the wind is coming. So, winds with direction 090° originate in the east and are blowing west. This means that the windsock for the runway should be pointing west, i.e the larger opening attached to the pole is at the eastern end and the small opening is at the western end.

In DCS World though, I have been seeing the exact opposite. Windsocks are pointing with the small opening into the wind, which is physically impossible, since that end is not attached to the pole...

I am confused... :huh:

Could anyone assist here or explain what is going on?

Thanks in advance

Andrew

• Thanks 1

Russian standard is to define wind direction as flowing to , not from .

Welcome to the forums !

9700k @ stock , Aorus Pro Z390 wifi , 32gb 3200 mhz CL16 , 1tb EVO 970 , MSI RX 6800XT Gaming X TRIO , Seasonic Prime 850w Gold , Coolermaster H500m , Noctua NH-D15S , CH Pro throttle and T50CM2/WarBrD base on Foxxmounts , CH pedals , Reverb G2v2

There is no russian/western standard... As far as I know.

There are different wind direction tho: navigational (vector of wind, used for calculations, the direction in which the wind is blowing) and metereological (the one you are familiar with and is said by ATC, METARS, ATIS, etc.)

If you are setting the wind in the mission editor, using the static weather, you are typing navigational wind directions, also seen by the arrow there. You will notice that when you play the mission in the briefing and by the ATC you are given the meteo direction, which you are used to.